37th Annual VIRGINIA FILM FESTIVAL Oct 30-Nov 3, 2024

37th Annual VIRGINIA FILM FESTIVAL October 30-November 3, 2024


Digital Media Gallery 2016

The DMG is a partnership with Second Street Gallery showcasing experimental video projection art and contemporary films by UVA intermediate and advanced cinematography students and local youth filmmakers from the award-winning Light House Studio, with UVA Associate Chair and Professor of Photography William Wylie and UVA Faculty in Studio Art George Andrews. The DMG will also feature a new film by celebrated cinematographer, UVA Professor Kevin Jerome Everson.

This year will also feature a free Virtual Reality Lab where visitors will have access to short VR film experiences.

Located at Second Street Gallery
Inside the City Center for Contemporary Arts
115 Second Street SE

Free and Open to the Public

The DMG is made possible by the generous support from The AV Company and the University of Virginia Arts Council and is part of the Virginia Film Festival’s Community Outreach & Education Program.


Gallery Hours

October 28 – November 17, 2016
Tuesday – Saturday
11:00 AM – 6:00 PM

Extended Festival Hours
Friday, November 4, 2016
11:00 AM – 9:00 PM

Saturday, November 5, 2016
11:00 AM – 7:30 PM

Sunday, November 6, 2016
11:00 AM – 5:00 PM



NEW in 2016! Virtual Reality Lab

Saturday, November 5–Sunday, November 6, 2016
Noon–5:00 PM

Located in Second Street Gallery’s Dové Gallery, the Virtual Reality (VR) Lab gives visitors an interactive experience with the newest technology in virtual reality filmmaking. Guests will have the opportunity to choose from a selection of short VR film experiences to view using head-mounted, wearable displays. The Lab is outfitted with OSVR, an open-source software platform that drives innovation and diversity by allowing different brands of VR hardware to connect with each other. The VR Lab is free and open to the public.


Special Events

First Friday Opening Reception
Friday, November 4, 2016
5:30 PM – 9:00 PM

During Downtown Charlottesville’s monthly celebration of art, First Fridays is your chance to celebrate the opening of the Digital Media Gallery, showcasing U.Va. and Light House Studio filmmakers.

Event Partner: Harvest Moon Catering and Bold Rock Hard Cider

Closing Reception – Filmmakers Gathering
Thursday, November 17, 2016
6:00 PM – 8:00 PM

Join us for an informal festive gathering on the Third Thursday of the month. Come to meet and mingle with the students and artists featured in the Digital Media Gallery.

Contact outreach@secondstreetgallery.org for more information about these events


Featured Artists

UVA Professor Kevin Everson, UVA Associate Chair and Professor of Photography William Wylie, UVA Faculty Studio Art George Andrews

UVA Cinematographers: Mariel Andersen, Corey Cronin, Deirdre Davie, Jack Doerner, Peter Hazel, Sarah Hilado, Mimi Koszeghy, Gillian Lee, Isabela Medina, Michelle Miles, Caitlin Muir, Pooja Ranganathan, Anthony Restivo, Paige Taul, Dante Venafro, Micah Watson, Sandy Williams IV

Light House Studio Filmmakers (mentored by Amanda Patterson): Ryan Beard, Jakob Groner, Karson Monger, Nathan Ridings, Lewis Summers